从第一批移民抵达纽约埃利斯岛的第一天起,当船靠近埃利斯岛时,船上的乘客们就看到了这座305英尺高的巨大雕像。这座雕像不仅象征着被抢夺的女性形象,"Libertas "是罗马自由女神,她象征着更多的移民,他们抛弃了他们所知道的一切,来到美国开始新的生活和旅程。今天,这座雕像对那些来自世界各地的移民来说是一种激励。她对许多移民的意义,意味着新的开始、希望、成功和自由的时代。
铜像的颜色类似于薄荷绿的铜质雕像,手持被称为 "理性之光 "的火炬和标有美国独立宣言日期的法律书。女雕像站在花岗岩基座上,上面刻着 "新巨人 "的字样。雕像上还有断裂的铁链,躺在她的脚下。火炬上面的淡淡的火焰被涂上了一层很薄的24K金。雕像上的皇冠上有几根尖刺,代表着几大洲和七大洋。多年来,自由女神雕像一直在提醒人们平等、爱国主义和人权。自由女神雕像承认了一种普遍自由的理念。这座雕像象征着对未来的梦想,而不是对过去的梦想。

这座著名的美国雕塑经过了几年的修复,以修复雕像的残片,使其不断恶化。1982年,有人宣布,自由女神雕像将在1986年百年纪念日之前需要修复。1982年,为该项目筹集了超过3.5亿美元的捐款。1986年7月5日,雕像重新向公众开放。美国总统罗纳德-里根对美国人说:"我们是自由之火的守护者,我们高举着它让世界看到。"

1984年,联合国教科文组织将该岛命名为世界文化遗产。

雕像游轮全年每天都提供前往埃利斯岛和自由岛的游船服务。希望探索和近距离欣赏自由女神的游客可以通过多种游览方式前往雕像的顶部。可选择 "基座游",攀登十几层台阶,欣赏纽约市迷人的天际线。漫步354级台阶,在自由女神像之冠之旅中俯瞰整个曼哈顿城。也可选择硬帽游,穿越埃利斯岛。自由女神像代表着美国人民,代表着帮助将雕像带到美国的人,将她从碎片中建立起来的人,以及常年涌向这座著名的雕像的人。

Skip to main content

The Statue of Liberty

An Icon of Freedom

From the first day the very first immigrants arrived at Ellis Island in New York the boats loads of passengers saw the enormous 305 ft. statue as the boat approached Ellis Island. The statue didn’t just symbolize the robbed female figure representing, ‘Libertas’ the roman goddess of freedom, she symbolized much more to immigrants who left everything they have ever known behind to begin a new life and journey in America. Today, the statue is an inspiration to those travelling from other countries around the world. Her meaning to many immigrants meant times for new beginnings, hope, success and freedom.

The copper statue which resembles a mint green color holds a torch known as the ‘light of reason’ and a book of law marked with the date of the United States Declaration of Independence. The female statue stands upon a granite pedestal engraved with the words, ‘New Colossus.’ The statue also bares broken chains that lie at her feet. The lite flame on top of the torch is painted with a very thin layer of 24 karat gold. The crowned figure with several spikes represents the several continents and seven seas. Throughout the years the Statue of Liberty is a constant reminder of equality, patriotism and human rights. Lady Liberty recognizes an idea of universal freedom. The statue symbolizes a dream of the future and not of the past.

The famous American Icon underwent a few years worth of restoration to repair pieces of the statue deteriorating. In 1982, it was announced that Lady Liberty would require restoration before its centennial in 1986. In 1982, over $350 million was raised in donations for the project. On July 5,1986 the statue reopened to the public. American President, Ronald Regan said the following to America, ‘We are the keepers of the flame of liberty; we hold it high for the world to see.”

Today, millions of visitor travel to New York City and to the famous islands to witness the breath-taking and iconic symbol to America and New York. In 1984, UNESCO named the island a world heritage site.

Statue Cruises offers daily boat tours year round to Ellis Island and Liberty Island. Visitors wishing to explore and get an up close view of Lady Liberty can do so with multiple tours to the top of the statue. Choose from the Pedestal Tour climbing over a dozen flights of stairs to see the mesmerizing New York City Skyline. Walk 354 stairs to oversee the entire city of Manhattan on the Crown of the Statue of Liberty Tour. Hard Hats Tours through Ellis Island are also available. The Statue of Liberty represents the American people, the people who helped bring the statue to American, build her from pieces and the people who flock to the famous statue year round.

Back to Top Page Top