الجميع على دراية تمثال الحرية الشهير، ولكن ليس الكثير من الناس على دراية الجزيرة والتاريخ الذي يستضيف العالم الشهير عجب الأمريكية. وقد تلقت الجزيرة مجموعة متنوعة من الملكية والأسماء للذهاب معها بما في ذلك، "جزيرة المحار"، "جزيرة الحب"، "جزيرة بيدلو"، و "جزيرة كينيدي".

يعود تاريخ الجزيرة إلى مئات السنين بدءًا من 1664 إلى 1876 ، مع تسمية الجزيرة ، "جزيرة المحار". كانت الجزيرة موطنًا للأميركيين الأصليين وأعطتها الاسم نظرًا لعدد القشريات البحرية على وجه التحديد المحار الموجود على طول شواطئ الصخور التي تحيط بالجزيرة. وكانت الجزيرة في وقت لاحق في موكب من نيو نيذرلاند من الهولنديين وقريبا إعادة تسميتها نيويورك. في عام 1667، تولى إسحاق بيدلو، وهو تاجر ومستعمر ملكية الجزيرة. عندما تولى العقيد فرانسيس Lovelace ملكية الجزيرة جعل شرط أن الجزيرة أن يكون اسمه جزيرة الحب. عندما فاز الإنجليز بالسيطرة على نيويورك، تم تغيير اسم الجزيرة إلى "جزيرة بيدلو". في كتب التاريخ الحديثة سوف تجد هجاء اسمه مكتوب ثلاث طرق مختلفة. وبيعت الجزيرة في وقت لاحق بعد أن واجهت أرملته الإفلاس وباعتها إلى أدولف فيليبس وهنري لين. سيطرت مدينة نيويورك فيما بعد يستعمل الجزيرة أن يأوى مريضات مع أمراض.

في عام 1759، اشترت شركة مدينة نيويورك الجزيرة واستخدمتها للإيجار للسنوات القليلة القادمة. في عام 1876، تم بيع الجزيرة في وقت لاحق إلى أرشيبالد كينيدي واستخدمت الجزيرة لمنزل صيفي. خلال هذا الوقت، أمرت ولاية نيويورك أن تكون الجزيرة في استخدام لمشاهدة الأعداء في نهج ممكن لنيويورك وكونيتيكت ونيوجيرسي. أُمر كينيدي باستخدام الجزيرة كمحطة للترحيب بأولئك الذين كانوا يخشون أن يكونوا يحملون الجدري الصغير.

وتملك الحكومة جزيرة الحرية منذ عام 1801. كثير يسأل غالبا إن ال تمثال الحرية يقع في نيويورك أو في نيو جيرسي على نهر هدسون وخليج نيويورك العلوي. تمثال الحرية هو رمز في نيويورك ونيوجيرسي.

Skip to main content

Federal Ownership of the Island

Learn about the Federal

Everyone is familiar with the famous Statue of Liberty, but not too many are familiar with the island and history that hosts the world iconic American wonder.

The island has received a variety of ownerships and names to go with it including, ‘Oyster Island,’ ‘Love Island,’ ‘Bedlow Island,’ and ‘Kennedy Island.’

The history of the island goes backs hundreds of years starting in 1664 to 1876, with the name of the island given, ‘Oyster Island.’ The island was home to Native Americans and gave it the name due to the number of sea crustaceans specifically oysters found along the shores of the rocks that surrounded the island. The island was later in procession of New Netherland from the Dutch and shortly renaming it New York. In 1667, Issac Bedloe, a merchant and colonist took ownership of the island. When colonel Francis Lovelace took ownership of the island he made a condition that island be named Love Island. When the English won control of New York the island was renamed, ‘Bedloe Island’. In recent history books you will find the spelling of his name spelt three different ways. The island was later sold after his widow faced bankruptcy and sold it to Adolphe Phillipse and Henry Lane. The city of New York later took control using the island to house patients with diseases.

 In 1759, the corporation of the City of New York purchased the island and used it for rentals for the next few years. In 1876, the island was later sold to Archibald Kennedy and used the island for a summer home. During this time, the state of New York ordered that the island be in use to watch for enemies in possible approach to New York, Connecticut and New Jersey. Kennedy was ordered to use the island as a station to welcome those who feared they carried small pox.

Liberty Island has been owned by the Government since 1801. Many often ask if the Statue of Liberty is located in New York or in New Jersey on the Hudson River and the upper New York Bay. The Statue of Liberty is both a symbol in New York and New Jersey.

Back to Top Page Top