每个人都对著名的自由女神像很熟悉,但对这座世界标志性的美国奇观所在的岛屿和历史却不太了解。

该岛的历史可以追溯到1664年到1876年,从1664年开始到1876年,该岛的名字叫 "蚝岛"。该岛是美国土著人的家园,由于在该岛周围的岩石岸边发现了大量的海甲壳类动物,特别是牡蛎,所以给它取名。该岛后来被荷兰人从新尼德兰人手中夺取,不久后改名为纽约。1667年,商人和殖民者伊萨克-贝德鲁伊(Issac Bedloe)取得了该岛的所有权。当弗朗西斯-洛夫莱斯上校取得该岛的所有权时,他提出的条件是将该岛命名为爱岛。当英国人赢得纽约的控制权后,该岛被改名为 "贝德罗伊岛"。在近代史书中,你会发现他的名字有三种不同的拼写方式。后来,他的遗孀面临破产,将该岛卖给了阿道夫-菲利普斯和亨利-莱恩。纽约市后来控制了这个岛,用它来收容疾病患者。

1759年,纽约市的公司买下了这座岛,并在接下来的几年里,将其用于出租。1876年,该岛后来被卖给了阿奇博尔德-肯尼迪,并将该岛作为避暑山庄使用。这期间,纽约州下令将该岛用于监视可能接近纽约、康涅狄格州和新泽西州的敌人。肯尼迪被命令将该岛作为接待站,欢迎那些担心自己带着小痘痘的人。

自由岛自1801年起就归政府所有。很多人经常会问,自由女神像是在纽约,还是在哈德逊河和纽约湾上游的新泽西州?自由女神像既是纽约的象征,也是新泽西州的象征。

Skip to main content

Federal Ownership of the Island

Learn about the Federal

Everyone is familiar with the famous Statue of Liberty, but not too many are familiar with the island and history that hosts the world iconic American wonder.

The island has received a variety of ownerships and names to go with it including, ‘Oyster Island,’ ‘Love Island,’ ‘Bedlow Island,’ and ‘Kennedy Island.’

The history of the island goes backs hundreds of years starting in 1664 to 1876, with the name of the island given, ‘Oyster Island.’ The island was home to Native Americans and gave it the name due to the number of sea crustaceans specifically oysters found along the shores of the rocks that surrounded the island. The island was later in procession of New Netherland from the Dutch and shortly renaming it New York. In 1667, Issac Bedloe, a merchant and colonist took ownership of the island. When colonel Francis Lovelace took ownership of the island he made a condition that island be named Love Island. When the English won control of New York the island was renamed, ‘Bedloe Island’. In recent history books you will find the spelling of his name spelt three different ways. The island was later sold after his widow faced bankruptcy and sold it to Adolphe Phillipse and Henry Lane. The city of New York later took control using the island to house patients with diseases.

 In 1759, the corporation of the City of New York purchased the island and used it for rentals for the next few years. In 1876, the island was later sold to Archibald Kennedy and used the island for a summer home. During this time, the state of New York ordered that the island be in use to watch for enemies in possible approach to New York, Connecticut and New Jersey. Kennedy was ordered to use the island as a station to welcome those who feared they carried small pox.

Liberty Island has been owned by the Government since 1801. Many often ask if the Statue of Liberty is located in New York or in New Jersey on the Hudson River and the upper New York Bay. The Statue of Liberty is both a symbol in New York and New Jersey.

Back to Top Page Top