行李搬运

通过埃利斯岛的程序很漫长,对乘客来说也很紧张。家属们会离开汽船,进入位于大楼主层的行李室。乘客们会拿到编号的身份证件。装满乘客必需品的手推车、行李箱和宝箱等物品被放在行李室一层,乘客按照提示进入位于楼梯上的登记室,以便医疗和法律人员对乘客进行检查。安检员对每个人进行逐一检查,看是否有气短、走路无力或说话困难的情况。

 

健康评估

登记室在当时也被称为 "大礼堂",是一个美丽而宽敞的区域,长200英尺,宽102英尺。就是在这个房间里,乘客们被告知是否可以入境或被送回原籍国。在1903年至1914年期间,这期间流行着一种名为 "沙眼 "的疾病,这种疾病会影响到眼睛。如果有人在抵达后携带这种疾病,往往会被送回原籍国。不仅要进行眼睛评估,还要进行 "六次检查",以确定乘客是否有身体或精神疾病。

 

法律程序

在进行身体检查的同一个房间里,还进行了法律检查。在检查中,共问了29个问题,如 "你在哪里出生?"、"你的职业是什么?"、"你结婚了吗?

Skip to main content

The Procedures at Ellis Island

Learn about the detailed procedures

Baggage Carry 

The procedure to be taken through Ellis Island was long and stressful for passengers. Families would exit the steamship and enter the Baggage Room, located on the building main level.  Passengers were handed numbered identity badges.  Belongings such as carts, bags and treasure chests filled with a passengers essentials were left on the Baggage Room level and passengers followed their cue to the Registry Room located up the stairs so passengers could be inspected by medical and legal officers. Guards processed each person individually looking for shortness of breath, weakness walking or difficulty speaking.  

 

Health Evaluation 

The Registry Room also known at the time as, ‘The Great Hall’ was a beautiful, spacious area that was 200 feet long and 102 feet wide. It was in this room that passengers were told whether they could enter the country or be sent back to their original country.  Between the years of 1903 and 1914, a disease known as, ‘Trachoma’ that affected the eyes was a popular during this time. Should someone carry the disease upon arrival they were often sent back to their original country. Not only was there an eye evaluation but also a ‘six second check’, to determine if a passenger was physically or mentally ill.

 

The Legal Procedure 

In the same room where the physical checks were being conducted there was also the legal inspection. Twenty- nine questions were asked such as, ‘Where were you born?’, What is your occupation?, ‘Are you married?

Back to Top Page Top