从1892年到1954年,有超过1200万移民,他们大多来自东欧和南欧,为了躲避欧洲国家内部的腐败社会和政治行为以及逮捕,被运送到了曾经被称为 "自由之国 "的美国。由于脚上起了水泡,眼睛疲惫,心事重重,每次都有成千上万的人步行、骑马,或者如果幸运的话,乘火车到达最近的海港,以便在大船上抢到一个位置,获得在美国过上新生活的机会。

来自意大利、波兰、俄罗斯和法国等国家的3000多人将焦急地等待着与家人和朋友们一起重新开始的机会,这意味着希望。男人、女人和孩子们将带着所需的每一件重要物品登船。对有些人来说,那是一条毯子和口袋里的橘子,而对其他人来说,那是100美元的全部收入和他们最好的皮鞋。

为期两周的横渡大西洋的旅程并不是一个愉快的假期。蒸汽船会根据乘客在船上的社会地位来分类,并根据他们在船上的位置来划分。精英级的头等舱的乘客和二等舱的乘客被安排在船舱和船舱,而三等舱的乘客则被安排在船的最底层,并被命名为 "舵手舱",类似于船底的空地。

Skip to main content

The Journey to Ellis Island

Learn All About the Journey to America

Between 1892 and 1954 over 12 million immigrants mostly from eastern and southern Europe transported to America, known once as the,  ‘Land of Freedom’ to avoid the corrupt social and political acts and arrests that occurred within Europe’s countries. With blistered feet, tired eyes and worried hearts, thousands at a time would travel by foot, horse or if they were lucky by train to arrive at the closest seaport for a spot on a massive steamship and a chance at a new life in America.

As many 3,000 people from countries such as Italy, Poland, Russia and France would wait anxiously for a chance at a new beginning with their family and friends which meant hope. Men, women, and children would board the ships with every ounce of important piece of item needed. For some it was a blanket and orange in pocket, while others it was an entire earning of $100 and their finest leather shoes.

The two-week journey across the Alantic wasn’t a pleasant vacation. Steamships would categorize passengers by social status depicting their location on the boat for their journey. The elite first-class passengers along with the second-class passenger were placed in cabins and staterooms, while third class passengers were placed at the lowest level of the ship and were given the name of ‘steerage,’ resembling the open space at the bottom of the ship.

Back to Top Page Top