استكشاف بوابة إلى أمريكا

الكشف عن بوابة إلى العالم الجديد

قبل جزيرة إليس

قبل أن تأتي جزيرة إليس لتكون أكبر مركز للهجرة في أميركا، خدمت الجزيرة العديد من الأغراض بما في ذلك محطة تجارة الفراء ومحطة التوافد للهنود الأصليين الذين يتطلعون إلى جمع المحار الطازج والمحار. اكتشف التاريخ وراء أكثر مراكز الهجرة ازدحامًا في البلاد التي يعود تاريخها إلى القرن التاسع عشر.

الرحلة

لم تكن الرحلة إلى أميركا لملايين الأوروبيين الذين غادروا بلدانهم الأصلية ممتعة في كثير من الأحيان. مع عيون متعبة وقلوب قلقة كانت الرحلة إلى الأرض الجديدة أي شيء سوى مناسبة سعيدة. تعرف على المزيد عن الرحلة والنضال من أجل مستقبل جديد وغد أفضل.

الوصول

الرحلة بالسفينة لمدة أسبوعين إلى أرض الحرية كانت في كثير من الأحيان مؤلمة خاصة إذا كنت راكبًا من الدرجة الثانية أو الثالثة. جلب موقع تمثال الحرية الأمل والسلام للكثيرين. تعرف على المزيد عن الظروف على متن القارب ونظام المهاجرين عند الوصول.

الإجراءات

بعد أن نزل وانزل العديد من المهاجرين من القارب إلى أرض الحرية، كانوا خائفين ولكنهم يأملون في أن تكون حياتهم في أميركا. وقبل قبول المهاجرين، تم إعادة قبول عدد من الإجراءات الطبية والإجراءات القانونية. تعرف على المزيد عن الإجراءات وما حدث لأولئك الذين لم ينجحوا في الفحوصات الطبية.

الحياة على الجزيرة

لم تكن التجربة في جزيرة إليس سهلة بالنسبة لبعض المهاجرين الذين فشلوا في اللوائح الطبية ولوائح الهجرة. تم الاحتفاظ هؤلاء المهاجرين في الجزيرة في أي مكان من أسبوع واحد إلى 3 أشهر. تعرف على المزيد عن المباني في جزيرة إليس وأغراضها للمهاجرين.

الحلم الأمريكي

إن الوصول إلى أميركا يعني الكثير لملايين المهاجرين الذين فروا من أراضيهم الأصلية من أجل مستقبل واعد. انحني أكثر حول الرحلة والمكان الذي سافر إليه المهاجرون بمجرد وصولهم إلى نيويورك.

Skip to main content

The History and Wonder of Ellis Island

Learn the History of the Island

EXPLORING THE GATEWAY TO AMERICA

UNCOVERING THE GATEWAY TO THE NEW WORLD

Before Ellis Island

Before Ellis Island came to be America’s largest immigration centre the island served many purposes including a fur trading station and a flocking station for Native Indians looking to collect fresh shellfish and oysters. Discover the history behind the nation’s busiest immigration centre dating back to 1600s.

The Journey

The journey to America for the millions of Europeans who left their native countries was often not an enjoyable one. With tired eyes and worried hearts the trip to the new land was anything but a joyous occasion. Learn more about the journey and the struggle for a new future and a better tomorrow.

The Arrival

The Journey by ship for two weeks to the land of liberty was often a painful one especially if you were a second or third class passenger. The site of the Statue of Liberty brought hope and peace for many. Learn more about the conditions aboard the boat and the system for immigrants upon arrival.

The Procedures

After stepping off the boat to the land of freedom, many immigrants were fearful but hopeful of what their lives in America would be like. Before immigrants were accepted, a number of medical procedures and legal processes were requiered. Learn more about the procedures and what became of those who did not successfully pass the medical examinations.

Life on the Island

The experience on Ellis Island wasn’t easy for some immigrants who failed the medical and immigration regulations. These immigrants were kept on the island anywhere from one week to 3 months. Learn more about the buildings on Ellis Island and their purposes for the immigrants.

The American Dream

Arriving in America meant so much to the millions of immigrants who fled their native lands for a promising future. Lean more about the journey and where the immigrants travelled to once they arrived in New York.

 

Back to Top Page Top